Blog Post · Healthy Lifestyle

My Weekly Cooking Experiments (Recipes)

By now means am I cook.  I hate cooking.  I don’t enjoy it.  I don’t find it relaxing, but I have found a method of cooking that works for me.  I guess thats the important part I am trying to get at.  Find a way that works for you.  Whether its cooking gourmet meals every night or making a meal in 30 min or less with as few ingredients as possible, or cooking a big batch of something for the week at once.  I chose the last one.  It’s the easiest for me.  I cook once and don’t have to think about it all week.  I am vegetarian, so my cooking mostly involves ingredients like various vegetable and beans with quinoa or pasta.  I am a very simple cook, but, in my opinion, a pretty good one.  Nothing is difficult to make and each week I will add what I make that week.  Feel free to add your own recipes in the comments section.

Roasted zucchini, tomatoes, onion and chickpeas with quinoa   

Ingredients

  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 1 bunch of cherry tomatoes
  • half a large onion
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • 1 cup of quinoa
  • 2 cups of water
  • olive oil

Roasted Veggies

  • cut zucchini into quarter inch pieces
  • cut tomatoes into quarters
  • chop the half onion
  • drain and rinse the chickpeas
  • combine all veggies and chickpeas into a bag, drizzle with olive oil and shake to evenly coat everything with olive oil
  • lay on a silver foil lined baking sheet
  • roast at 350 F for 30 min mixing halfway through or until tender

Quinoa

  • follow directions on the box

Roasted cauliflower, tomatoes, onions and white beans with quinoa

Ingredients

  • 1 small cauliflower
  • 1 bunch cherry tomatoes
  • half a large onion
  • 1 can white beans
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water

Roasted Veggies

  • chop up cauliflower into bite size florets
  • quarter the cherry tomatoes
  • chop the half onion
  • combine in a bag with olive oil, shake evenly to coat and dump onto a lined baking sheet
  • roast at 350 F for 30 min mixing halfway through or until tender
  • add drained and rinsed can of white beans to veggies when they are taken out of the oven and mix

Quinoa

  • follow directions on the box

Roasted sweet potato, beet, chickpeas and onion with quinoa

Ingredients

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 4 small beets
  • 1 half onion
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water

Roasted Veggies

  • chop sweet potato
  • peel and chop beets
  • chop half onion
  • drain and rinse chickpeas
  • mix in a bag with olive and shake to coat evenly
  • dump onto lined baking sheet
  • cook at 350 F for 30 min or until tender

Quinoa

  • follow directions on the box

 

Leave a Reply

